Skip to main content

12-08-2010 | General practice | Article

NICE pinpoints new quality standards


NICE Quality Standards

The National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence (NICE) has marked out nine more areas for development of 'quality standards' used to measure clinical care as well as commissioning performance.

The new quality standards are for the management of breast cancer, type 1 and 2 diabetes, chronic kidney disease, end of life care, glaucoma, depression, chronic heart failure, alcohol dependence (treatment only) and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease.

The new measures, which will be developed during 2010-2011, add to quality standards in stroke, dementia and venous thromboembolism prevention that have already been introduced.

The Institute says the standards are aimed at giving health and social care professionals the latest evidence and best practice to help their decision making, as well as helping patients understand what service they should expect.

They are also to be used by National Health Service (NHS) Trusts to examine clinical performance and by the newly planned National Commissioning Board to judge GP consortia on commissioning performance.

Dr Fergus Macbeth, director of the NICE Centre for Clinical Practice, said: "I am pleased to announce that NICE will be developing these nine topics as quality standards.

"NICE quality standards provide the NHS and the public with clear statements and associated measures, which will be used to assess existing practice and improve future services. They will focus on outcomes of care, as well as patient experience and cost effectiveness."

GP News is an independent clinical news service provided by Springer Healthcare Limited. © Springer Healthcare Ltd; 2010

By Caroline Price